Tinder has upwards of 50 million people using the “social discovery” app — but a percentage of them aren’t single and probably don’t even know they’re still there. (This isn’t about the non-single people who purposely mislead; it’s about those who have happily coupled but haven’t properly removed their Tinder profiles.)
That’s right, one of the things about tech is that there is a lot of emphasis from entrepreneurs to get you to sign up for a service. Yet there’s very little incentive to make sure you’re off the books when you’re no longer a real user. Yes, there are instructions about how to delete your profile, but many people mistakenly think that if they delete the Tinder app from their phone that their digital presence gets removed from Tinder. Not so. The app is just a tool to access the database — it’s the database you need to remove yourself from. If you’re no longer looking for companionship — and don’t want to be looked at — go get the Tinder app again, so you can delete your profile for real.