Cheerios are made with oats, so they shouldn't contain gluten in the first place. But during the process of making them, the oats come into contact with wheat and Cheerios can contain tiny percentages of gluten. General Mills wanted to put "gluten free" on its Cheerios packages, so it changed the process to make sure no gluten got into the mix. A big ad campaign followed letting people know the fix was in. This week there was the discovery that about 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios may have had wheat flour introduced into the gluten free oat flour at a Lodi, CA plant. It's harmful only to a very few people with celiac disease. Cheerios is getting the word out about the error. Below is the info.
General Mills' announcement is a voluntary recall that "includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California." For more info check here.
|Honey Nut Cheerios||Honey Nut Cheerios||Honey Nut Cheerios||Yellow Box Cheerios|
[Try The All-NEW Amazon Echo Dot]